The Godfrey Diekmann Award

The Godfrey Diekmann Award began in 2003. It is named in honor of the liturgical giant Benedictine Father Godfrey Diekmann, OSB, of Saint John’s Abbey in Collegeville, Minnesota. Fr. Diekmann was a NAAL founding member who died in 2002.  The Diekmann is awarded occasionally to a non-Academy member who has made a significant contribution to the liturgical life of the world.

Godfrey Diekmann Award

Year Diekmann Awardee Site
 2015 Fr. Virgilio Elizondo Minneapolis, Minnesota
 2009 Louis-Marie Chauvet  Baltimore, Maryland
 2006 Dr. Catherine Bell San Diego, California
 2003 Edward Sovik  Indianapolis, Indiana